Shimmer, Sheen & Glow- Highlighters

Happy 2014 beauty-loving folks! January is here and winter weather can sometimes mean dull skin. When I’m feeling a bit lack-lustre, I reach for a highlighter to give my complexion a little pick-me-up. These are a few I have been liking lately:

Powder Highlighters

From left: Tokidoki, Physician's Formula, MAC, Essence

From left: Tokidoki, Physician’s Formula, MAC, Essence

Tokidoki Blush in Momobella- Although this is technically a blush, the gold shimmer and glitter makes it a great top off product for a night out.  I like applying this on top of any matte blushes I have used to give my cheeks a fun pick-me-up.

Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips in Malibu Strip-  I cannot get enough of these! These shimmer strips have definitely made it into my  2013 favourites. A dupe of the much more expensive Bobby Brown Shimmer Bricks, the shimmer strips are meant to be used as an eye or cheek product. I have the Malibu Strips version, which has a pinky/ rose-gold theme. I like tapping my brush (lightly) into the first two colours for a brightening highlight.

MAC Blush in Trace Gold- My personal favourite highlighter, I’ve got an entire post dedicated to this! In one simple sentence: this bronzey- golden powder makes your skin look like it’s glowing from the outside in. The powder is finely-milled and goes on incredibly smooth.

Essence Eyeshadow in Cappuccino, Please!- A great highlight for people with fair skin, this eyeshadow is a dupe for MAC’s Shroom eyeshadow- a popular makeup artist highlight choice. The champagne colour does a nice job in bringing light to the high points of the face such as under the brows, down the bridge of the nose and on the cupid’s bow.

Cream Highlighters

From left: Smashbox, Benefit Cosmetics

From left: Smashbox, Benefit Cosmetics

Smashbox Photo Finish Luminizing Foundation Primer- An illuminating primer with a peachy-golden shimmer, I like to apply this on the tops of my cheeks and a touch on my chin and forehead. It gives my liquid foundation a glowy look.

Benefit Watt’s Up!- This is the only cream highlighter I own, and I have to say, I like it! It looks great on the cupid’s bow and in the inner corner of eyes. If you’ve got dry to normal skin, cream highlighers do a fantastic job at giving your skin a dewy finish. However if you’ve got oily skin (like myself) I would keep this away from the t-zone.

If you have any highlighter recommendations, I would love to hear them in the comments! Happy 2014!

3 thoughts on “Shimmer, Sheen & Glow- Highlighters

  1. Pingback: MAC Limited Edition MSF in Stereo Rose – Dupe | Isi Art | Beauty and Lifestyle

  2. Pingback: Essence Makeup is Essentially Great! | SMILE FOR IT ALL

Leave a Reply

